5 Sections Of The Ucat Test For Dentistry

The meaning of the UCAT is The “University Clinical Aptitude Test.” It is one of the many things you have to think about if you are seriously thinking about applying to dental school.

Most UK dental schools require all the applicants to take the UCAT as a part of the application process. In short, the UCAT is a computer-based exam used as an entry exam to nearly all dentistry schools in the UK.

So what is the UCAT format?

It’s a computer-based exam similar to when you take your driving theory tests. You book your exam date through the UCAT website once you have checked each dental school’s requirements.

The UCAT will cost £75 for applicants inside the UK and £120 for applicants outside the UK. You will have to bring your ID on the day of sitting your exam.

The UCAT is 120 minutes long and consists of 5 sections, all the sections added up plus 1 minute for reading the instructions before each section. If you have special educational needs, you can take the UCATSEN and you will get an extra half an hour (150 minutes in total).

It’s essential you get some coaching for the UCAT so you know how to maximise the time you have to answer the questions. There are also no breaks during this test. (The only ‘break’ you will get is the 1 minute introduction before each section.)

If you need to, you can go to the toilet during the test and then return back. However, the time will not stop and you will lose valuable time to answer the questions. What are the 5 UCAT sections?

The UCAT consists of 5 different sections

1.     Verbal Reasoning

2.     Decision Making

3.     Quantitative Reasoning

4.     Abstract Reasoning

5.     Situational Judgement

Situational Judgement is scored and structured differently to the other sections. The UCAT scoring has been explained before in a different article but the Situational Judgement is scored separately to the other sections.

Leave a comment